monthly book club meet up

if it’s the second tuesday of the month, then it’s time for my monthly book club meet up. which happens to be one of my favorite nights. once a month like clockwork, a lovely group of women in my hometown gathers together to read and discuss a book. the books are typically fiction, but no story is off-limits, including non-fiction. in fact, we kicked off our book club last year reading  The Soul of America by Jon Meacham. one of my kiddos joked, “do you really talk about the books or just sit around and drink wine?” well, wine is definitely at the ready. snacks too. and while the conversation weaves and bobs between an assortment of topics, the monthly book selection is always discussed. this month we’re reading Dear Committee Members by Julie Schumacher. sometimes, we even plan outings together. in december we’re headed to see David Sedaris live at the Classic Center. sounds like fun, right? 

book club meet up

but the blog has an online book club that anyone can join. read more about book club with Style. here’s a list of our previous reads. this month we’re excited to have author and former Cosmopolitan editor Kate White join us to discuss her latest release Such A Perfect Wife. the event is September 16th, 7pm EDT. here’s a snippet of the book:

New York Times bestselling author Kate White returns with a gripping story about a true-crime reporter uncovering the secrets that lie beneath the surface of a placid small town, perfect for readers of Jessica Knoll, Alafair Burke, and Liv Constantine.

Blonde. Beautiful. A loving mother. And missing since Monday.

On a sunny morning in late September, Shannon Blaine sets off for a jog along the rural roads near her home in Lake George, New York.  It’s her usual a.m. routine, her “me time” after dropping the kids off at school…except on this day she never returns.

Is her husband lying when he says he has no clue where she is? Could Shannon have split on her own, overwhelmed by the pressures of her life? Or is she the victim of a sexual predator who had been prowling the area and snatched her before she knew what was happening.

True-crime writer Bailey Weggins, on assignment for the website Crime Beat, heads north from New York City to report on the mysterious disappearance. An anonymous tip soon leads Bailey to a grisly, bone-chilling discovery. Every town has its secrets, Bailey reminds herself, and nothing is ever as perfect as it seems. She keeps digging for answers until—when it’s almost too late—she unearths the terrifying truth.

book club meet up

what did i wear to my monthly book club meet up? today, i’m wearing a pair of mom jeans. who remembers those? all of us had a pair during the eighties and nineties. then they fell out of favor. guess what? now they’re back in style. my mother always said if you live long enough you’ll see more than one trend back in vogue. this pair is from Madewell who is known for well-made jeans. 

book club meet up

a classic cap toe slingback shoe goes with everything. and it elevates a casual look. perfect to wear to my monthly book club meet up. here’s a similar version for half the price.

book club meet up

denim | similar tee | similar bomber jacket | shoes | similar bracelet | similar handbag

book club meet up

in my eyes bomber jackets (old, similar here and here) are a classic must-have wardrobe staple. this year you will see bomber jackets paired with everything from denim to skirts. according to the fashion experts, it’s definitely on trend this fall. today, i’m wearing a knit rendition of the classic bomber jacket. it’s from Ralph Lauren that’s been hanging in my closet for several years. take heart; i’ve rounded up newer versions.

book club meet up

this ootd is easy peasy to put together. start with a striped tee, add blue jeans, a third layer which in my case is a bomber jacket (similar here), classic cap toe shoes, satchel handbag (old, similar here and here), and a bracelet (old, similar here and here). i’ve loved charm bracelets since a teenager and have a mini-collection.

book club meet up

book club meet up

it’s time to get this day underway! better late than never as they say. happy tuesday, ladies.

 

signature

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

7 Comments

  1. Sylvia Espinoza wrote:

    Beautiful as ever. It was a look similar to this that introduced me to you in November 2016. Was coming out of almost a year’s worth of health issues, that included Bell’s Palsy early on. One look at you that November day and I knew the now-66-year -old had a spanking new inspiration–you and Style At A Certain age! Have “heard” myself think, “Beth would look fabulous in a burlap sack & mop head!” Thank you for sharing all that is Beth with us. Love and prayers to you always from a very grateful reader.

    Posted 9.10.19 Reply
  2. Really cute and casual. Love the bomber jacket ! Irony is my BookClub meets second Thursday of the month. Lots of seconds….it works! We read Woman in the Window last month and thus week we discuss Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close. Author is Jonathan Foer? Spelling may not be correct.

    Posted 9.10.19 Reply
  3. Betty (SC) wrote:

    Comfy jeans, casual tee, sporty little jacket, pretty baubles, and a nice pair of shoes to set off pretty feet! This outfit can take you almost anywhere! This is me! 😻. I enjoy the videos so much! It’s an extra oomph to get to see the ootd in action! 👍

    Posted 9.10.19 Reply
  4. Mary wrote:

    Great outfit. I always enjoy getting book ideas from your book club. I just finished The Secrets We Kept by Lara Prescott. It was wonderful.

    Posted 9.10.19 Reply
  5. Cyndi wrote:

    You look so casual and put together & comfortable. Perfect for book club right? I’m anxiously waiting the cool weather – fall is my favorite time of year, both for fashion and decorating. I have several versions of striped shirts and can’t wait to start wearing them with my jeans!

    Posted 9.10.19 Reply
  6. Kathy wrote:

    Always read your posts but never comment. I do look forward to them though. My gram used to say if you maintain your figure you will be able to wear your clothes from your youth…life and fashion repeats itself. Mom said if you wear a trend once don’t repeat it! I think the boho style popping up this fall reminds me of high school in the mid ‘70s. I love it but at 63 not sure if I can pull it off.

    Posted 9.10.19 Reply
  7. Peggy wrote:

    Beth, I have to say that while the cap-toe shoes go with many outfits you have shown, I am not loving them with this outfit. And I was so surprised to see you beltless! You are lucky to have held onto that bomber jacket–it’s great. Do you archive everything or do you get rid of some things?

    Posted 9.10.19 Reply
Powered by chloédigital.